4 Components of E-Liquids that Makes It Vegan-Friendly

Posted by owen Li on

Whether you're vegan or not, the idea of inhaling animal bits doesn't sound appealing. Especially if you're vegan, knowing what your e-liquid contains is very important. Nowadays, many items have some form of an animal to contribute to the final product. We wouldn't blame you if you thought that vaping isn't vegan-friendly. However, this cannot be further from the truth. Most, if not all juices, are vegan. 

The truth is, no animal parts are used in the making of e-liquids. Flavourings come from natural sources, and these sources are plants, fruits, and vegetables. Here are the facts in regards to vaping and vegans.


1 - Chemicals Rather than Dairy

Have you ever seen a cake or custard-based juice flavour? You might think that it might contain milk or dairy products. However, do not fret! There isn't any dairy inside. What makes it taste like the advertised flavour of cake or custard is the chemicals used in the process to give the same taste. No eggs, milk, or butter are used!


2 - Vegetable Glycerine and Propylene Glycol

E-liquids either have a base of VG or PG. VG is made from plant oils, such as palm or coconut, thus making it vegan-friendly. PG, on the other hand, is made of compounds that come from petroleum. As you may or may not know, petroleum isn't made of anything animal-related.


3 - Contains Water

Well, this seems like a no-brainer, but yes. Water is one of the ingredients used in the making of e-liquids.


4 - Contains Nicotine

Nicotine, as most people know, is the addictive substance found in tobacco as well as some vape juices. This substance is found in nightshade plants, which includes potatoes, tomatoes, and aubergine.

So, put in simple terms, the ingredients that make up the juice isn't made of any animal parts or products. It is based entirely on artificially engineered compounds or natural ones.

However, whether or not you consider vaping to be vegan depends on how strict you are as a vegan. There are some grey areas that some may consider vegan while others don't, such as animal- testing. 


Although it may seem like there is absolutely nothing animal-related with the juices, there is no guarantee that individual components of the fluid aren't tested on animals. Compounds such as propylene glycol and the different artificial flavours may have been tested on animals to make sure that it is safe for humans to use.


If you need further information, the best way to go about this is to ask the manufacturer. Their answers should put your mind to rest. Otherwise, if you cannot get an answer out of them or their answer doesn't satisfy you, there are still other options. When looking for e-liquids, look for ones that are labelled 100% Vegetable Glycerine (VG). As you know, VG is made entirely of plant oils, making it suitable for you. Also, look for ones that use natural flavourings such as grape and apple and try your best to avoid any PG or PG/VG mix.


If you’re looking for safe, high-quality e-cigarettes in the UK, get in touch with us & shop today! We have a wide variety of e-juices to choose from.


Older Post Newer Post